"The Birth of the Son of God", digital print by R Gopakumar, Bahrain. Poem by Carole Jacobs, U.K.

(Copyright R Gopakumar)
(Copyright R Gopakumar)

Lullaby at Bethlem

 

You have come at last,

-rest in the hay-

The pain was of wanting you,

Now you must stay.

 

Your eyes like dark pools,

-rest in the hay-

See me think how to keep you,

so you must stay.

 

Your fingers are searching,

-rest in the hay-

For my hand that will hold you

Safe for your stay.

 

The pulse in your scalp,

-rest in the hay-

Beats out a signal for us

That you’ll stay.

 

Your lips’ grip on my breast,

-rest in the hay-

Tightens my heart round

Your shape. Oh stay.

 

I will never leave you

-rest in the hay-

I’ll bind myself to each minute,

Cradle your stay.

 

 

Luke 2 Verse 19

But Mary treasured up all these things

 

Carole Jacobs, Broniwan, Wales

 

Scrivi commento

Commenti: 0